Sources
Every figure published on Todo Portugal comes from an official or open source and is loaded automatically from the original files. We do not estimate values and we do not type them in by hand. When a figure is not available, we show “—”.
Coverage
The whole of Portugal: the 18 mainland districts, the autonomous regions of the Azores and Madeira, and the 308 municipalities, in all 3,259 parishes. The published national total of resident population (10,343,066) matches the INE total for the 2021 Census.
Population
INE, Censos 2021 — População residente (indicador 0014525), via dados.gov.pt. Reference date: 2021 Census (census moment of 19 April 2021), final results. File: populacao-por-concelho-censos-2021.csv (dados.gov.pt, CC BY 4.0 licence), which reproduces INE indicator 0014525. The population of each district and autonomous region is the sum of its municipalities.
Area and parishes
DGT, Carta Administrativa Oficial de Portugal (CAOP2025) — áreas e freguesias, Directorate-General for the Territory, files “Areas_Municipio_CAOP2025”, “Areas_Distrito_CAOP2025” and “Areas_Freguesia_CAOP2025” (dgterritorio.gov.pt, 31/12/2025). These files cover the mainland and the autonomous regions (areas calculated in PT-TM06/ETRS89 on the mainland and PTRA08-UTM/ITRF93 on the islands). The area of each autonomous region is the sum of the areas of its islands.
The number of parishes follows CAOP2025, which already reflects the 2025 restoration of parishes, so it can differ from the number of parishes at the 2021 Census. In Corvo (Azores) CAOP counts one parish for statistical purposes, even though that parish does not exist in law. Density is the 2021 Census population divided by the CAOP2025 area. Municipality names follow INE; when CAOP uses another name (for example “Praia da Vitória” / “Vila da Praia da Vitória”, “Calheta de São Jorge” / “Calheta”), the municipality page says so.
Parishes
INE, Censos 2021 — População residente por freguesia, geografia 2025 (indicador 0014584): 2021 Census resident population as compiled by INE for the 2025 parish geography (indicator 0014584, also on dados.gov.pt, CC BY 4.0), taken as JSON from the INE API. Parishes restored in 2025 therefore have their own published INE values. We do not estimate or split them. The 3,259 CAOP2025 parishes match, by DTMNFR code, the 3,259 INE parishes, and the national sum equals the 2021 Census total. Area: file “Areas_Freguesia_CAOP2025” (DGT); density is calculated. If a value is missing, the page shows “n/a”.
Municipality figures use the 2021 Census geography (indicator 0014525) and parish figures use the 2025 geography, so in municipalities whose boundaries changed after 2021 the sum of the parishes can differ slightly from the municipality population. When that happens, the municipality page says so.
Maps
Map boundaries come from the Official Administrative Map of Portugal, 2025 version (CAOP2025) of the Directorate-General for the Territory, official GeoPackage files “CAOP_Continente_2025”, “CAOP_RAA_2025” (Western and Central/Eastern groups of the Azores) and “CAOP_RAM_2025” (dgterritorio.gov.pt), under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 (CC BY 4.0) licence. Geographic information provided by the Directorate-General for the Territory.
Municipality polygons are those of CAOP2025; district and autonomous-region polygons are their aggregation by DT code. The geometry was simplified (keeping the topology) for the web, so it is not for measurement: published areas always come from the official area files. On the Azores map the three island groups were brought closer; on the Madeira map the Selvagens Islands are not shown; islets under 0.4 km² were omitted. Map colours use quantile classes calculated from the published figures.
Enriched parish pages
Parish pages have extra blocks (see, for example, Alvalade, Lisboa). A block appears only when the figures were obtained from the source named there. Numbers are read automatically from official or open files and services, never typed in, estimated or split.
Current coverage (parishes)
| Block | Parishes | % of 3.259 |
|---|---|---|
| 2021 Census in detail | 3.259 | 100,0% |
| 2025 local elections (parish assembly) | 3.221 | 98,8% |
| Heraldry (Diário da República text) | 660 | 20,3% |
| Parish-council contacts (DGAL) | 3.258 | 100,0% |
| Patron saint, coordinates and links (Wikidata) | 2.944 | 90,3% |
| Neighbouring parishes and distance (CAOP2025) | 3.259 | 100,0% |
Current coverage (municipalities)
| Block | Municipalities | % of 308 |
|---|---|---|
| 2021 Census in detail | 308 | 100,0% |
| 2025 local elections (municipal council and assembly) | 308 | 100,0% |
| Contacts and mayor (DGAL) | 308 | 100,0% |
| Coordinates and links (Wikidata) | 308 | 100,0% |
| Neighbouring municipalities and distance (CAOP2025) | 308 | 100,0% |
Current coverage (districts and regions)
| Block | Units | % of 20 |
|---|---|---|
| 2021 Census (sum of municipalities on the mainland; INE in the regions) | 20 | 100,0% |
| Neighbouring districts (CAOP2025) | 20 | 100,0% |
- 2021 Census in detail — INE indicators API (CC BY 4.0): indicators 0014630 (sex and age group), 0014631 (education), 0014632 (nationality: Portuguese, foreign and stateless), 0014627 (private households), 0014623 (dwellings), 0014621 (buildings), 0014635 and 0014636 (active and employed population), on the 2025 parish geography. The share of each nationality is the category divided by the total of indicator 0014632. 0012481 (mean household size) and 0012328 (unemployment rate) exist only on the 2013 geography and are used only when the parish has the same territory in both geographies. Elsewhere the unemployment rate is calculated from 0014635 and 0014636 (marked †) and mean household size is omitted. The ageing index, the share with higher education and that unemployment rate are calculated by us from the INE values.
- 2025 local elections — official parish-assembly results published by the Secretariat-General of the Ministry of Internal Administration at eleicoes.mai.gov.pt (official public data; the site does not state a licence). Parishes that meet as a plenary of voters do not elect an assembly and do not have this block. The name of the parish-council president is not part of those results: it is shown only when checked against an official source (the council’s own site), which is cited.
- Heraldry — text of the heraldic grant (coat of arms, flag and seal) published in the Diário da República (official text). We do not publish images of coats of arms or flags. The quoted text stays in the original Portuguese.
- Parish-council contacts — Portal Autárquico of the Directorate-General for Local Authorities (official public information), as published on each parish page.
- Patron saint, coordinates and links — Wikidata (data under CC0 1.0). We do not copy text from Wikipedia; the introductory sentences are generated from our own figures.
- Neighbouring parishes and distance — calculated from the CAOP2025 boundaries (DGT, CC BY 4.0): neighbours share a stretch of boundary; the distance is a straight line between geometric centroids.
Listed heritage: this block is not published yet. The open set “SRUP — Imóveis Classificados” (DGT, CC BY 4.0) is only available through a WFS service that returned a server error in our tests (September 2026), and the general terms of the cultural-heritage site require prior permission for uses that are not personal.
Enriched municipality and district pages
Municipality and district/region pages use the same kinds of block (Census, 2025 local elections, DGAL contacts, Wikidata, neighbours), only when the figures exist. For the 18 mainland districts the Census totals, including nationality (indicator 0014632), are the sum of the municipalities (the INE NUTS 2024 API does not publish the classic level of the 18 districts); the page says so. In the Azores and Madeira nationality is the value INE publishes for the region, which matches the sum of the municipalities. Contacts and the name of the mayor come from the official DGAL list. Header search (and /pesquisa/) can filter by type (districts, regions, municipalities, parishes) and by district or region; the filters stay in the URL (?q=&tipo=&distrito=) so the link can be shared. At /comparar/ you can compare 2 or 3 municipalities side by side.
Catalogue
The page /catalogo/ and the “Services and territory” section of each parish bring together data that the sources publish with an identifiable geography. Filters (theme, district, municipality and text) stay in the URL.
- Schools — DGEEC Infoescolas 2020 (CC BY 4.0): schools with figures for the 1st, 2nd and 3rd cycles and for secondary education. The source names the municipality, not the parish, so the school is shown on the municipality and is not assigned to a parish. It is not the full network. Schools in the municipality named “Lagoa” are left out: that name exists in the Azores and in the Algarve and the file does not distinguish them.
- Higher education — DGEEC network of higher-education establishments: each organic unit with its nature (university or polytechnic, public or private), address, telephone and municipality. The site does not state a Creative Commons licence. The source does not name the parish. Six names that were cut off in the table copy were completed with the name of the same unit in the DGES 2026 higher-education access guide.
- Rents — INE indicator 0014773 (CC BY 4.0), median rent of new contracts (€/m²) in 2025, 2026 methodology. Published for the 308 municipalities and for the parishes where INE releases a value on the 2025 geography. Where the parish has no value, the page shows only the municipality figure, labelled as such.
- Climate — IPMA, 1991–2020 climate normals, station sheets. Each parish shows the station closest to the CAOP2025 centroid, with the straight-line distance. Temperature and precipitation are those of the station.
- Parish councils, town halls and postcode — contacts already taken from the DGAL local-authority portal. The postcode is that of the address of that seat, not the CTT list.
- NHS hospitals — institutions that report inpatient stays in Hospital morbidity and mortality by institution (ACSS, BDMH, CC BY 4.0). We publish the name and the health region, not the rates. The source has no address, telephone or parish. The municipality filter matches an institution only when the official name includes that municipality.
- Emergencies — national numbers confirmed on the official pages of SNS 24, INEM or the Ministry of Internal Administration. They are the same throughout the country.
- Cost of living — the CPI (indicator 0014648) is national. There is no cost-of-living index by parish.
- Embassies and consulates in Portugal — Book of the Diplomatic Corps accredited in Lisbon, April 2025 (Government publication). Each country with a chancery in Portugal is entered with the first Portuguese postal address in its chapter. Career consulates are included when the book gives them their own address and an email that identifies them as a consulate. Honorary consuls come from their own chapter. Missions with no address in Portugal are marked as non-resident. We do not assign a post to a parish.
- Embassies and consulates of Portugal — the network published on the Portal das Comunidades Portuguesas (Ministry of Foreign Affairs), read on 27 September 2026: Europe, Africa, the Americas, Asia and Oceania, with the address and contacts shown on the post’s page. Where the portal says there is no permanent representation, the post keeps that note and no invented address. In the catalogue, the map marks the address when OpenStreetMap finds the street, the postcode or the place; “Directions” opens Google Maps with the official address text, and each email address has its own mailto link.
- Community associations — list of associations and entities accredited with DGACCP on 15 April 2026 (Portal das Comunidades Portuguesas). We publish the name, the country, the consular area and the year of validity, as in the list. It is not every Portuguese association in the world, and the list has no address or email. The consular area is that of the post, not the association’s address. Names stay as in the list, including the source’s spelling.
On each mainland district page, the telephone code is the geographic area code of the district seat, in ANACOM’s national numbering plan. Fire services and banks are not published: the ANEPC site and the Bank of Portugal site did not, from this server, return a national list that can be republished. The full CTT postcode database is not redistributed.
Unemployment (2021 Census)
The home page counter («unemployed (2021 Census)») is the sum across all 308 municipalities of the unemployed population from the 2021 Census, using INE indicators 0014635 (active population) and 0014636 (employed population): unemployed = active − employed. The rate in the label is unemployed ÷ active × 100. Licence CC BY 4.0. This is the Census unemployment concept (census moment of 19 April 2021), distinct from IEFP registered unemployment — see IEFP.
Registered unemployment (IEFP) — planned
IEFP publishes monthly registered unemployment by municipality (mainland) as PDFs on the IEFP Statistics page. As of September 2026, dados.gov.pt carries an annual national series (INE indicator 0001231, CC BY 4.0), but not a clear, republishable monthly municipal CSV/API for municipality totals. Therefore we do not yet republish municipal registered unemployment on the pages or on the home counter (we do not invent numbers or scrape PDFs without an explicit licence). The home counter uses the 2021 Census (above). When an open, republishable municipal series appears, the «Arriving here» card, the tp_iefp_total stub and this page will be updated, with source and date cited.
Codes and territorial organisation
District codes (2 digits) and municipality codes (4 digits, DTMN) are the official INE/DGT codes. In the autonomous regions, the first two digits of the DTMN identify the island (Madeira: 31–32; Azores: 41–49); on this site the islands are grouped into the two autonomous regions, published at /regiao/acores/ and /regiao/madeira/ (NUTS II codes 20 and 30). The NUTS regions shown follow CAOP2025 (NUTS 2024).
Sources: INE, 2021 Census (resident population) · DGT, CAOP2025 (area and parishes) · more details · Data updated on 24/09/2026